The BTEC Tech Award in Digital Information Technology is an exiting GCSE alternative to KS4 qualifications. The BTEC Tech award in DIT is assessed mainly through coursework, with only one exam paper in the second year. It is a Level 1-2 qualification which is equivalent in value to a GCSE. This is broken down into three components across the two years. Components 1 and 2 are assessed during class time using real-world scenarios and contexts, preparing students well for the world of business!

Year 10


Component 1: Exploring User Interface Design Principles and Project Planning Techniques

Learners will develop their understanding of what makes an effective user interface and how to effectively manage a project. They will use this understanding to plan, design and create a user interface.

Learning aims

A: Investigate user interface design for individuals and organisations

B: Use project planning techniques to plan and design a user interface

C: Develop and review a user interface.

This component is internally assessed through coursework

Component 2: Collecting, Presenting and Interpreting Data

Learners will understand the characteristics of data and information and how they help organisations in decision making. They will use data manipulation methods to create a dashboard to present and draw conclusions from information.

Learning aims

A: Investigate the role and impact of using data on individuals and organisations

B: Create a dashboard using data manipulation tools

C: Draw conclusions and review data presentation methods.

This component is internally assessed through coursework


Year 11


Component 3: Effective Digital Working Practices

Learners will explore how organisations use digital systems and the wider implications associated with their use. This includes legal and ethical implications, GDPR and the copyright designs and patents act.

Learning aims

A: Modern technologies and their impact on organisations

B: Threats to digital systems and how an organisation can manage them

C: Responsible, legal and ethical use of data

D: Planning and communication in digital systems

This component is assessed by an external exam which covers all four learning aims


Information is derived from Pearson’s official website. The full specification for this course if publicly available for download at: